Oh How I Hate Going to Toronto

Yes I had to go to Toronto for a meeting, so to be eco-friendly, I decided to take the Greyhound bus rather than drive. My appointment was for 9.30 at University Avenue just south of Dundas Avenue. I decided to catch the 6.25 a.m. from Barrie which was to arrive at the Toronto Bay Street terminal at 8.10 a.am and give me ample time to find the office tower and grab a coffee. Simple enough with lots of time to spare, I thought.

No such luck, firstly at 6.25 a.m the bus was nowhere to be seen and in fact was 30 minutes late appearing with no explanation given. Next the traffic on the 400 highway was to say the least slow thanks in part to cops who just love to leave their lights flashing while sitting on the shoulder writing some poor guy a ticket. Then to top things off,  Avenue Road had construction cones on the west side starting  just south of Lawrence for miles. Not much construction going on but lots of big machines moving around slowly making sure that the road was down to two lanes right down to St.Clair. I think they do this at rush hour just to tick people off. I finally hopped off the bus at  University and Dundas 50 minutes late but in time for my appointment although no time to get a coffee. 

The meeting was finished early and I had time for lunch before catching the 2 p.m. bus home.  I had a soup and a six-dollar bottle of  beer and walked back to the terminal to wait for the bus. I figured a trip the washroom was in order before the two-hour trip home but to my dismay both the mens and women’s washroom had a sign posted ‘Out of Order’ with instructions to use the East Mall washroom across the street. I still had time, so I walked through the tunnel under the road to the Mall only to find that the mens washroom was, yes you’ve guessed it, ‘Out of Order’.  Now I had no time to find the West Mall washroom like this sign suggested so I quickly walked my full bladder back to the terminal and climbed aboard the waiting bus. Well to my delight the bus had a washroom, and this one was in order, available and used with much appreciation just minutes before the bus left Toronto for Barrie.

Yes leaving Toronto is, ‘From My Point Of View’ the best thing about visiting Toronto.

About lorrystdavid

I'm a retired guy who loves to get involved in community affairs and issues especially when I feel there is some injustice involved or that I have a valid point of view. I still believe that the pen is mightier than the sword although lately, I am wondering if this is still true.
This entry was posted in Ontario, Toronto and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

