Border to be jammed as shoppers head to U.S. for Black Friday bargains

Repost from The Canadian Press – Fri, 26 Nov 4:00 AM EST

“This is Black Friday in the U.S., but many Canadian retailers are a furious red at the thought of consumers heading south for bargains. The Retail Council of Canada says there is a long list of reasons to shop north of the border. It says retailers are a vital part of any community’s economy and it employs 10 per cent of the workforce. It also reminds consumers that Canadian taxes — which cause much of the traffic south — help pay for health care and education.”

From My Point of View I ask the question, why are retailers furious with Canadians who look for bargains in the US. If you want our business, then beat the prices and stop your complaining. We are the highest taxed country in the world and hell why shouldn’t we try to get a bargain. Why do you think Wal-Mart is so successful – they beat the pants off most Canadian owned retailers because their prices are good with loads of lost leader items. I know that I always spend twice as much as I planned when I go to Wal-Mart. Lower your prices and your profit and give Canadians a break or else shut up.

About lorrystdavid

I'm a retired guy who loves to get involved in community affairs and issues especially when I feel there is some injustice involved or that I have a valid point of view. I still believe that the pen is mightier than the sword although lately, I am wondering if this is still true.
This entry was posted in Canada, Canadian, HST Tax Grab, Ontario, Political and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

